Adobe Gamma before Eye One: newbie question

I am a novice. Probably undeserving of this forum even.

I have done some reading, however, and I was intending to buy the Eye One calibration software. That is, until I happened upon this forum. Seeing all the folks whose 17 inch Dell monitors are not calibrating, I started to worry about the money involved, and perhaps getting in over my head. Unitl I read some threads here, it never occurred to me that certain monitors were not “calibrate-able.”

Before buying the expensive software solution, I want to give the Adobe Gamma utility a chance. This gentleman seems to think it will work for a large number of folks.
normankoren.com/makingfinepr … alibration

However, I had trouble following the instructions on how best to set the Gamma for my monitor. Before I start to tinker, I want to know if there is a simple tutorial on the steps to follow with the Adobe Gamma software. (I have a Dell Ultra Sharp digital LCD monitor.)

Can someone send me a link or some simple advice? Thanks in advance.

Marie,

Even an inexpensive monitor calibration solution is (IMHO) better than relying on the Adobe Gamma Utility.

Even though I have not used it, may I suggest:

pantone.com/products/product … roduct=103

[quote="

t_username"]
I am a novice. Probably undeserving of this forum even.
Before buying the expensive software solution, I want to give the Adobe Gamma utility a chance. This gentleman seems to think it will work for a large number of folks.
normankoren.com/makingfinepr … alibration

However, I had trouble following the instructions on how best to set the Gamma for my monitor. Before I start to tinker, I want to know if there is a simple tutorial on the steps to follow with the Adobe Gamma software. (I have a Dell Ultra Sharp digital LCD monitor.)

Can someone send me a link or some simple advice? Thanks in advance.
[/quote]