Color Calibration: i1 Display PRO vs Spyder 4 Elite

I have this monitor: newegg.com/Product/Product.a … 6824009316

Even since I got it, I knew I was going to have to have my monitor calibrated. So I did some research and found out about these 2 color meters, and also the Colormunki.

I will be upgrading to a new monitor, like one of the best on Newegg, later. But for now I wanted to buy a color meter to get my monitor as true to true color as I can.

The work I’ll be doing is professional and is mainly video editing, 3d modeling / animation, website design.

So with the video editing and website design I need ACCURATE color. I’m just not sure which is the best. I’ve heard that the Spyder4 software is better to use and such but I want which will get me closest to true color. So does anyone know which is more accurate on the actual color display?

I really need to get my color, brightness, etc, under control before I make these templates. Being a professional I need to know that what I release is based on a true workstation.

I mean what does Pixar, Disney, etc, use? I’m sure their not worried about color because?

Thanks!

Here’s an article from one of our newsletters that talks about the differences between different monitor calibration devices. It’s a bit dated now, but the descriptions of the differences between colorimeters and spectrophotometers is still valid:
colorwiki.com/wiki/Profiling … r_Monitors

If you’re truly looking for accuracy, the thing to get is a DISCUS. Professionals use this to get the best calibration, and it has been shown to be the most accurate of all the commercially available instruments out there:
www2.chromix.com/colorgear/shop … olid=50140
colorwiki.com/wiki/DISCUS_Review

I know it’s pricey, but you asked for what Pixar and Disney would use.