Gretag question (RGB measurements)?

I just purchased the Eye One Display 2 from Chromix after much research. I have downloaded and watched the tutorial several times.

I have a Dell UltraSharp LCD monitor. I downloaded the latest Eye One update.

I chose “native white point,” native gamma, and luminence of 120 (as recommended for LCD screens).

My monitor will allow for the individual RGB measurements, but I never get that option with my software. The software goes from contrast, brightness, and then does the final measurement and tells me I’m done. Why no option to set the RGB individually (as shown in the tutorial)? Does it have something to do with choosing “native white point”?

Can someone help me. Total newbie. Just beginning with color management. Thanks in advance.

Yup… I’d say you are on the right track.

Try choosing 5000K for your white point and 2.2 gamma…

at the very first are you doing the advanced option

On Mar 28, 2006, at 6:29 PM, MarieBoyer wrote:

Post generated from email list

Yes. Advanced.

From what I had read and learned, I thought “native white point” was preferred for LCDs? Maybe I just do not get the option to measure the RGB settings in that instance?

Do you agree to use “native white point” for LCDs?

I work in the prepress department of a very large commercial printer. In our case we use 5000k because it gives the monitor a softer yellower look. Which matches most printing paper. I believe native white point usually gives you something like 6500k which is very blue and white. Have you ever seen a printed piece of paper that looks like that. Maybe some of the super white proofing papers.
But I understand in the photographic world and rgb you may want that 6500k

A printers point of view others will have theirs

MIke

On Mar 28, 2006, at 7:05 PM, MarieBoyer wrote:

Post generated from email list

Mike:
Mine registered at 6900.