help with soft proofing from color mgmt newbie

I hope I am posting this in the right area - So much of this is over my head right now, but I am trying to understand as much as I can and learn what I don’t yet understand!

I’m a photographer and use a third-party photo lab to do my printing. My lab has just switched from using Fuji papers to the Kodak Endura paper. I have downloaded the new ICC profiles and have soft-proofed my images in photoshop. The images look great in PSCS and when I get my prints back, I am getting a yellowish color cast on the prints (this is new since the switch to the Kodak paper - I had a good handle on what I was going to get from my lab when they were using the Fuji paper). My images are black-and-white, but they are not grayscale images - they are RGB images. The paper that the images are being printed on is color paper - not true B&W, so I understand that slight color casts can happen, but shouldn’t I be able to predict that with a profile and soft proofing?

I was told by my lab’s customer service spokesperson that soft-proofing with the profiles in PS will not show any color casts since the black-and-white image is being printed on color paper. If my image is an RGB image and not grayscale, shouldn’t I still be able to see a color cast if it’s there when I view the soft proof?

Any help would GREATLY be appreciated!!

If the profile you have used is accurate, for your printer’s equipment AND the process they are using to make the print, then you are correct, any residual colour-casts should be visible in Photoshop (certainly if the image is RGB).

My apologies if this is off-track and you have already covered this base…