How to Make an accurate profile for inkjet/solvent printers?

Hello,

I’m a newbie to this forum, just getting into color profiling!

I have a small print house with a few inkjet printers (both solvent and aqueous). I’ve purchased I1Publish (with I11Profiler) and I run a WaSatch SoftRip for both types of printers. I’m struggling with getting accurate color prints. Can anyone provide me with instructions on how to make a VERY ACCURATE color profile? Here is the process I’ve been doing so far:

1. Print a 6 color (CMYK + O + G) unrestricted channel target that I’ve created in PS CS5 (with squares for each % from 1 to 100%).
    1a) Print a total ink limit chart (0 to 600%) and evaluate how the inks are looking combined.
  2. Determine and set what I think is the proper channel ink limit.
  3. Print a 6 color linearization target from my WaSatch Rip PS files.
  4. Scan with my EyeOne Pro the densities of the targets and create color curves in my Rip.
  5. Print a total ink limit chart again and evaluate what the total ink limit I should use is (I use this limit in my profile making software i1profiler, NOT my WaSatch Rip - I leave that limit at 600%).
  6. Create patches to print and scan for generating my ICC profile.
  7. Scan into I1profiler
  8. Use results and settings to generate a ICC profile.
  9. Add profile back into imaging configuration in WaSatch Rip.

This process results in reasonable profiles, but nothing that is “Dead On” or a “true Match” when I compare the prints in my Judge 2 light booth with my Ezio CG2330 monitor (which auto profiles itself once a week).

Any one see something I’m not doing that will really make my profiles accurate?

Any advice helps!

thanks,

Matt

Hi Matt,