i1 display pro OR spyder4elite for matching dual displays?

Hello!

I have a classic macbook pro (non-retina) and an LG external LED LCD IPS monitor attached to it.

I wanted to calibrate both screens so they display exactly or very closely the same colors, without any sort of variations. I don’t mess with printing, I need strictly for web and to check colors in real-time, on-screen.

Even though spyder4elite has what seems to be an amazing feature, exactly what I need, the “Studio Match”, I wanted to go with i1 display pro. It’s cheaper and people say overall profiles and color gradients are better.

Does anyone any know which of these 2 calibration devices should I pick, regarding specifically display-to-display matching?

Has anyone had any experience matching 2 different displays with i1 pro display? I know upfront that spyder4elite does the matching by picking the “worst” monitor. Not sure if i1 display pro could do the same.

Cheers!

I have plenty of experience with the i1Display Pro, only a little experience with the Spyder4Elite. They are both good products, but I would prefer the i1DPro. The idea behind the X-Rite software matching two monitors is to calibrate both monitors, and once you do that accurately, then they both would match pretty much automatically. The i1Profiler software you would be using has individual presets for the different type of backlighting you will have in your two displays (fluorescent tubes and LCDs). That, combined with the accuracy of the measurement gives a very good match from what I have seen.