LCD Displays

Hello All

I thought I’d start a general topic about LCD displays because we are not having such good luck with ours!

What LCD displays are people using? What are the best for color consistency and evenness accross the screen? Any tricks for calibrating/profiling? What are people’s experiences with different LCD monitors in a color critical environment?

We have several 23" Apple Cinema Displays here and my color guys all complain about color shifting across the screen, bands of color and inconsistant brightness, etc., etc. Any similar experiences?

Thanks in advance!

I have just spent close to $1000 on calibrators for my 17" Gateway 610XL LCD monitor. I returned the Spyder Pro because it was worthless on MY monitor. I got a Monaco Optix Pro and it is just as bad. I have NO experience in color management or calibration. I was having color management problems with my Epson 2200 and every question I asked the 1st response was don’t talk to me UNTIL you calibrate your monitor!! When I did and they analyzed all my resulatant profiles now no one can help!!! Only 1 gentleman took the time to give me a hand and he was forthright in telling me that LCD’s are not his thing.
My advice --DON’T GET AN LCD-- for your desktop if you plan to do image editing, color printing or color management of images. It is a waste of your money and time. Not 1 so called color management manufacturer or expert can fix my problems using the same monitor I have and with my LCD it is a permanent part of the computer-can’t replace! :frowning: :smiling_imp: