LCH Values

I have recently been creating Linearisation files for a variety of inkjet printers, I have been reading on these forums about measuring to the max Chroma. This seems a good idea to me, but how do you find the max Chroma and are there any standard values?

Sorry for such a stupid question, but I’m new to this, and anything that I can do to get better results I’m interested in finding out how.

Chroma is just the measurement of the color of a colored ink.

I will use Cyan as an example. Just because it is a Cyan ink head it does not mean this ink head always prints pure cyan - density build-up can change the color into something else which reveals a limitation of using density as a guide to setting ink limits / ink restrictions.

Print a raw grad of cyan from 0 to 100% with no profile or ink limit getting in the way. Most profiling & RIP software lets you do this - you can’t do it just with an application and a printer as the ink limits are canned and always applied by default.

Take a spectrophotmeter like an Eye 1 or an Xrite Pulse and some software that can read & display Chroma values.

Read the patches and you will get a reading of the Cyans “chroma”

You will find that usually the Cyans Chroma increases along the strip in a linear fashion but nearer the top end you get a shift towards blue - ie you have gone past the point where Cyan is maximised - where you should place your ink limit - and are now into Hue shift - not good!

Most software lets you visualise this as a curve - it increases to a high point (max Cyan in this case) before curving away into another color (blue in this case) Call your ink limit at the top of this curve.

Thus your ink limit is placed at the best point possible - where Cyan is maximised. Using only density as a guide you often push onward into blue and this can give your profile a headache and waste ink.