Monitor Calibration For HPZR24w

Hi All,

Color management newbie here :smiley: . I am hoping that all the experts can help me solve the issue I am facing.

As others have faced before , I sent some prints to the lab and was disappointed with the results. Some were off by a couple of stops.

After a lot of reading, I came to the conclusion that D65 ( 6500k, 2.2 gamma and 80 cd/m2) were the correct settings. I have constant ambient light and there is no light falling directly on my screen. The CFL light is daylight balanced (5000k)

I’ve calibrated my monitor using Spyder3 Elite . If I need to achieve the settings mentioned above, on my monitor I have reduced my brightness to 0. After this , the least luminance reading I get is 90 cd/m2.

The problem I have now is that the pictures appear very dark on the screen ( well darker than I am used to ) . I’ve read in several forums that this is normal. I am soon going to send prints to the lab for some testing.

My question is , is it acceptable for brightness to be at 0 ?

Also , when I calibrated my monitor, Spyder suggested a setting of 5800k,2.2 gamma and 100 cd/m2. I’ve ignored this and went with the D65 setting mentioned above. Have I made the correct decision here ?

Appreciate your thoughts on this.

Thanks for taking the time to review my issue.

VJ

Hi VJ,

Welcome to the forum. This is a great question, so thanks for asking it.