Newbie looking for help...

I am ready to get into color management and I have a few questions, hopefully the people on this forum will be able to point me in the right direction.

First, my setup:

Operating system: I run Windows 7 Ultimate (32 bits but I am probably going to migrate to 64 bits).

Monitors: I have two Dell 3001WP-HC monitors connected to an ATI HD 4650.

Software: I use mostly Adobe Lightroom (latest version), Photoshop (CS5), Nikon NX-2 and ACDSee Pro for my photo work.

Color calibration device: I have an older X-Rite Optix XR Pro with the latest version (2.3) or their software (which they claim doesn’t work on Windows 7, but see below)

Almost forgot, I am a sports photographer, so color management is important but hasn’t been critical for me yet.

So… I have been trying to calibration / profile my monitors with mixed success so far.

The monitors are great, but they don’t have any controls besides a On/Off switch and brightness control (which has a rather limited range).

I have been able to load and run the X-Rite software on Windows 7 and create profiles for each monitors.

Then I use the Windows 7 color management utility to load the profile, but I really can’t see any difference… So either I am doing something wrong (likely) or my monitors are really close off as is (yeah!).

Anyways, I have a few questions:

• The ATI graphic card control software (Catalyst) has the capability of adjusting the brightness / contrast and color (hue, saturation) for each monitor. Can I use this as a substitute for the lack of controls on the monitor? Is this even necessary?

• How to I know that once I have created profile that they load correctly? To test that, I was thinking about creating some profile that would be really off (like swap color or really do something in your face obvious) to check that they load. Is that a good approach? How would I do that?