Profiles...and how to tie them together, in a work flow...

Hi, sorry I am really new to this, so please forgive my ignorance.

I have started to work ina Repro department in a printers(gravure press). The Printers have for the last 2 years relied on a chap in the Repro who made profiles, lots of them, and unfortunatly he had no idea what to do with them.

I have Scanner profiles and Printer profiles, and monitor profiles, but no production print profiles, he didn’t know how to get one…

unfortunatly for me, I was previously employed, in a magazine, and we sent the work to a Repro house, so I never had to bother with such things.

So on to the question, I have full rain of the Repro and the Production printer, to work on a system to bring all this information together. herein lies the problem, I have read many Forums, and Colour management manuals. and I am probably more confused than ever. How do I bring all the information together.

Does it make sence for me to Scan(RGB), work on the images in Photoshop(RGB) and then Proof(CMYK) and then seperate for production(Engraving).

We do large scans, photographic, 2X3m, work in Photoshop, and then proof, for the customer, and then send to the Production Printer (all inhouse)

Should I use Device link, to convert the RGB to CMYK. As I explained earlier I’m new please don’t flame me.

I am in a unique position to work on this from start, Scanning, to the production. Off set printing, in CMYK/in-house colours.

How would I profile the Production printer, I understand I can profile our Roland and the Mimaki, easy send file to print reead in and I have a profile. But the production would be…

Any advice is truely welcome, I found Chromix and have put this forward as a purchase, just so we can see the profiles, and have some visual understanding of what it going on.

I am sorry for all the questions.

By “production print profiles” do you mean press profiles? We make press profiles here at CHROMiX.