Profiling an Epson R800 with Eye-One Photo

I’m new to color mgt and an trying to profile an R800 with i1 Photo (bought last week). My objective at this stage is neutral b&w.

I’m using WinXP, Epson inks and Epson Prem Glossy Photo Paper and my monitor is profiled.

I have followed the wizard in iMatch 3.1 and created a profile (strip mode) with the i1 RGB 1.5.txt chart (well dried). When I print grayscale images from photoshop CS (applying the profile and using the no color mgt option in the driver), the prints are not neutral. They are slighly cool. I also tried patch mode with the same chart but that didn’t make any difference.

Does anybody have any suggestions how I could improve the profiling process? Should I be using a different chart? Any help would be appreciated. Cheers.

HI Leuis

Refere to the topic “Black and white” I have posted some time ago, I received luminous answers. The printer was the 1290 but it seems to concerne exactly the same problem !

Thanks Norbert - I can’t believe I missed that topic. I’ll give the bigger one a go.

Just a follow up for those who are interested. I built a profile for the R800 using the larger test (actually did it twice just in case). I used Epson Prem Photo Glossy (it was the only paper I could get enough of at the time). For b&w at least, the profile (or at least the output using the profile) was very average. When I used the Eye-One gizmo with Eye-One Share to read various parts of a b&w print, the various tones all read cool (moved around a bit, but all were cool).

Subjectively, the prints were plagued by metamerism. They were all over the place. If anyone has had better luck with b&w on this printer, I’d be very interested to hear about it.

I’ve done limited printing in colour with the profile, but what I have done looks better. Might have to investigate the new Epson 4800/7800 for b&w…

Strange, I’ve bought recently the Espon 1800 that use the inks’cartridges than the R800.