Trouble calibrating Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 930sb

I’m new at this!
I’m using an eye-one display2. When I go through the initial RGB settings steps in EyeOneMatch, the red and blue channels are pegged to the left even when set at 100%. I can get the green channel placed within the correct range. I then go through the rest of the steps of the calibration and the result looks pretty good, though my cursor is bright blueish green and there seems to be just a very slight magenta cast to the screen.

I’m wondering if there is a problem with this particular monitor that wont allow me to correctly calibrate it, or am I doing something wrong. The result is not terrible, but I am assuming it’s not correct since I could never get the red and blue channels anywhere near the acceptable range and my cursor is green (!).

Any help is much appreciated, thanks.

No ideas?
Another aspect of this issue is that the video overlay is definitely green. I guess that’s a different part of calibrating.

I just want to know if I need to replace this monitor, or not. Or, what to look for in order to make that decision.

Thanks…

Jack:
Hold old is your Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 930sb?

One of the things you mentioned (green casting) would indicate an aging monitor (or possibly a bad colorimeter sensor if it’s old), in which case you should be considering your next LCD monitor purchase. Monitors are the weakest part of our workflow. They suffer the most variability of any other traditional device and require increasing the calibration & maintenance as it continues to age. Once a monitor has shifted outside of viewable gamut range, there’s nothing you can do. It can’t be brought back into gamut. Finally, depending on the Grade of the monitor(Consumer vs Commercial), you will get a faster or slower aging process. So it always pays to invest wisely.

oRick Hatmaker, CHROMiX

On Nov 5, 2007, at 4:27 PM, esox wrote:

Post generated from email list