Visualising Perceptual and Relative Rendering Intents

Hi all,

I’m a newbie to ColorThink Pro and am excited by its potential in helping me as an educator in the classroom to better explain Colour Management theory - a picture is worth a thousand words, right?!

I’ve been having the below discussion with Pat from Tech Support and he suggested I take it to the forum as it may be helpful to others so I’ll try to summarise what I’m trying to achieve below and then leave it open for others to chime in if they choose:

#############################################

Basically, I have an image I want to use for a class exercise which I think demonstrates the power of rendering intents within colour management quite nicely. I’d love to show the image here in this post (for clarity) but can’t see how to do it apart from a link to it from somewhere else, sorry. The image is basically a stylised picture of Lana Del Rey’s face (all solid colours) with a floral pattern running through the background and the skin areas. It was created in Photoshop as RGB. There’s essentially only 5 colours used (though the anti-aliased edges produce a lot more colours in the total image):

1. 27.192.38 (dark green background)
  2. 15.222.30 (bright green pattern in background)
  3. 213.255.69 (olive skin)
  4. 160.217.1 (darker skin pattern)
  5. 0.0.0 (Black face contour and hair)

When the image is viewed in RGB, the colours are clearly visually different from each other, but when you print them to a CMYK device, using Relative rendering intent, the two greens almost sit on top of each other at the edge of the CMYK gamut and the results are that the floral pattern in the background almost completely disappears - a great teaching moment then arises! ;-D